(Unsent) Letter to a lover

stockin-around-rose-1315798
FreeImages.com/Miguel Ugalde.

„Love is of all passions the strongest, for it attacks simultaneously the head, the heart and the senses.“ (Lao Tzu)

I am tortured by this great love. As I write these words, I spill my heart upon this page and ’tis my flush blood that sway my pen (The Brothers Riedell). O, let my lips be the missive of my pain. Let my fancy fancy-free heart be the nest of the fair thou ow’st. Let me love thee, like words love the song, like Prince Paris loved the Helen. O, please, my dearest princess, let me be the harbor to thy bark, for “thy beauty torments me” (The Brothers Riedell).

And it wearies me, to see your soft hands caress another juvenal, for I wish ’twas my presence, that thee cherished. I misprise the thought of thy lips merging with him, thy lustful eyes gazing his tall body. For my proof is not substantial to prig thy heart, my wondered lady. For I must wear this clock of humility and watch you ignore my very passion. I rawly tried to forspeak thy love for him, for my fear makes me a want-wit. Since love and fear can hardly exist together, if we must choose between them, it is far safer to choose fear than love (Niccolo Machiavelli, edited). Path me to the Garden of Eden and I will pick any flower against the wrath of gods. But point me at thee, and I will halt. For thee make me weak, my charm will wave me bye, my tongue will lock and the godly Deimos will charm my mind. “What made me love thee? Let that persuade thee there’s something extraordinary in thee. […] I cannot: but I love thee; none but thee; and thou deservest it” (William Shakespeare, The Merry Wives of Windsor, Act 3:3).

O, Gods why you send this fair demon to mine heart. For what have I sinned to entertain such melancholy? Was he blind, that he shot the same arrow twice? Or he missed his aim and I must pay the price? My dearest Eros, please undo such illness and free me from my fardels, for ’tis difficult to love someone who doesn’t know my heart. I beseech you, my lief master, forgive me and force those arrows back to the rightful owner. Plead the help of Zeus, if you have to, for I better be forbid than watch her kiss another.

O, my dearest Tamina, I rest humbly before you (The Brothers Riedell). “Thou art fair in complexion. Thou art tall in manner. Thou art beautiful like a star struck from the fabric of heaven, thou art shining forth like the rays of beauteous sun upon which gods gather” (The Improvised Shakespeare Co.). All the divine powers knee upon blazing of your eyes (The Brothers Riedell). The mother earth doesn’t dear to crumble under your feet, for thee might cry and sky will cry with you. Thy desires will always be my commands, but thee dost acknowledge my presence first and greet me with a kiss, for thy sweet love I dream.

What should I act upon to capture thy attention? Shall I win you over with this letter or shall I boot myself, for my heart is lost in this chaos as a scantling ship is lost in the ruthless tampest. O, Dearest Gods, assist me in my search for she makes my breath warm and she gives me strength to meet tomorrow. But I’m forspent. Make my fox the highest or fordo me with it. For I refuse to be franked. Put a crown on my nowl or help me cope.

O, I cannot silence my lips, like the mother cannot harm her child. I shall not keep this love whist as long as birds will fly and men will breathe. I will not stop loving thee, as the sun won’t stop chasing the moon (The Brothers Riedell). I will shelter thee in the warmest corners of my heart, I will foin for thy beauty. For thee my love never stops.

But now, I must yield to others. My cue is over. Now I be here left all alone, I have nothing to do but to go to my home (The Improvised Shakespeare Co.).

I love thee much, but now it is thy part to do as such…

Leave a Reply

